close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Township Board

Dennis Bowen – Supervisor
Dennis has been a resident of Boston Township all his life, where he and his wife Joan raised three children. Dennis served on the Saranac Community Fire Department as a volunteer for 40 years where he filled the position of Fire Chief for 14 years. He retired from the Village of Saranac in December 2013 after serving 31 years as the Director of Public Works.
Dennis has always been active in the community and has served on various boards and committees within the Village of Saranac, Boston township and Ionia County. His first involvement with Boston Township was as a member of the COPS Committee when the township first signed a contract with the Ionia County Sheriff's Department for police coverage. He served on the township board as Trustee from November 2011 until his retirement from the village in December 2013.
After nearly three years of retirement Dennis realized that he missed being active in the community and decided to get involved again. Dennis is very familiar with the township and many of its residents and looks forward to again serving the community in this capacity. 
Susan Bieri – Clerk 
Susan has been a resident of Boston Township since 1988.  After 45 years with Amway Corporation she retired in December 2022.  Susan was hired as the Township Clerk in 2019 and was reelected to the position in 2020.
Mary Lamphere – Treasurer
Mary has been Treasurer for Boston Township since she was appointed in June of 1993. Mary has been a resident of Boston Township all her life.  Mary is involved with the cemetery operations and maintenance since October 2011.  Mary was raised in a home where service was the key.  Mary's goal: serving Township residents to the best of her ability. Mary's outside interests are: kayaking, biking, reading, nature walks and visiting family and friends. 
Kenneth Olson - Ken has been a resident of Boston Township since 1988. Ken served on Township committees from 1998-2004. He was elected as Trustee in 2004, and has been reelected since then.  After 28 years with the MDOC he retired in 2015.  Ken has been the township's representative on the board of the Clarksville - Morrison Lake Sewer Authority board and is Treasurer of the Ionia County Township Officials Association.
Barbara Foster - Barbara has been a resident of Boston Township since 1995, prior to being elected in the November 2016 election she was the Deputy Clerk for Boston Township for almost 4 years. She has serves on the Clarksville-Morrison Lake Sewer Authority Board for, Secretary for the Greater Grand Rapids Ski Club and was recently appointed to the Board of Directors of Hope Academy of West Michigan. Barbara enjoys spending time with her 2 adult children and 5 grandchildren. In her free time depending on the season she enjoys golf, kayaking, camping, snowshoeing, and cross-country skiing.   
Dennis Sitzer - Dennis has been a resident of Boston Township his entire life.  He served in the USMC for 4 years.  Dennis was appointed to the Boston Township Board on September, 2012.  He ran on the general ballot in 2012 and was reelected as Trustee.  Dennis also serves on the Ionia County Board of Public Works, Commission on Aging, and Area Agency on Aging of Western Michigan. He also enjoys fishing, hunting and shooting sports.

Gary Martin - Gary has served on the Township Board of Review.  He was appointed to the Board of Trustees in April 2023. 

Mary Lamphere
Dennis Bowen, Supervisor
Mary Lamphere, Treasurer/Cemetarian
Gary Martin, Trustee
Barbara Foster, Trustee
Kenneth Olson, Trustee
Dennis Sitzer, Trustee
                Susan Bieri, Clerk